The three demi-gods of Go, Yang and Bu, from whom the people of Jeju Island originated, married three princesses from the kingdom of Byeokrang and then shot arrows into the air in order to decide where to settle. The arrows landed on a stone, which was later named Samsaseok (meaning a stone shot with three arrows).
Impressed by the three demi-gods’ abilities of shooting arrows, Jeju governor, Kim Jeong, built a monument of 113cm in height 43 in width and 18th thick, in 1735. Later a stone shelter, 149cm in height, 101cm in width and 67cm thick, was built by a Jeju Islander, Yang Jong-chang, Go Ik-bo, Bu Chan-bin. The current monument of Samsaseok comes from the repair works by such local people, Go Han-yong, Go Dae-gil and Go Yeong-eun in 1930.